Homemade Coleslaw

coleslaw
Photo credit: Curtis Stone

Often of times you find yourself scrambling to get something together to bring to the next summer BBQ or to the next get together. I know that I usually hate when I have to pick something up at the store because I didn’t have time to whip something up. I am just like everyone else, the day comes around and it completely slipped your mind that you were going to marinate some chicken teriyaki and to bring over to grill. When this happens, I usually resort to calling either my mom or dad (whichever one answers first) because they are always full of ideas. This past Memorial Day Weekend, Saturday rolled around and I was empty handed. Thankfully, my mom gave me this recipe to make and it took me about fifteen minutes. It might be unusual, but I always have cabbage in my refrigerator because I am a huge fan so I didn’t even have to run to the store. Most everyone loves a side of homemade coleslaw and this recipe is quick and easy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Head of green cabbage
  • 2 Carrots rinsed
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 1 Cup Mayonnaise
  • 1/4 white vinegar
  • 3 Tablespoon sugar
  • Black pepper to taste

Directions:

First you will need to rinse all of your vegetables. Then you will have to remove core of cabbage and then cut cabbage in half. You will continue to slice all of the cabbage very thin and you will want to roughly chop it cross ways. Next you will shred the two carrots using a cheese grater. Lastly you will dice the onion into small pieces.

Next you will hand toss all of your prepared vegetables in a serving bowl and then add the mayonnaise, white vinegar, sugar and lastly pepper to taste. Be sure to mix your concoction up well, cover and chill at least 2 hours before serving. You can even make it up to the day before serving.

Leave a Reply

